2.31 Prey

Allie

28-8-16_13-09-17.png

Being pregnant was the most wonderful feeling I’d ever experienced. It was like being in love, but on a whole different level. I couldn’t stop admiring my growing belly in the mirror.

 

28-8-16_13-11-26.png

Phil was adorable. He was so careful not to let me lift anything, checking expiration date on everything I put in my mouth, giving me massages when my back ached and taking the time to talk to the baby every single day.

 

28-8-16_13-27-10.png

My parents were also super excited to finally become grandparents. Dad would play guitar to the baby, and mom wanted to help with every detail of the nursery. We’d decided to keep the gender a secret (after all, we really didn’t care), so not being able to fall back on generic pinks and blues proved to be a struggle.

 

28-8-16_13-26-15.png

And even though my morning sickness persisted until far into my second trimester, I took every second of it like a champ and became best friends with what became known as the ‘puke bush’, since nausea usually hit me during my morning gardening.

 

28-8-16_13-14-26.png

One night, I was craving some food and sat at the kitchen table, devouring a cold hotdog at 2 AM. Pregnancy at its finest. When I was on my second dog, I heard the front door open and Enzo came into the kitchen. He looked surprised to see me.

“Allie? What are…” He saw the hotdog in my hand and crumbs around my mouth and started laughing. “Pregnant women really are crazy.”

 

28-8-16_13-16-01.png

I swallowed and grinned. “That’s what they say. So, mister… What are you doing coming home at 2 AM? Had a date, did you?”

Enzo started blushing and stuttering, which made me laugh. “Don’t think I haven’t noticed you coming home at all kinds of crazy hours – sometimes even in the morning. I think you’re seeing someone and I really want to know who.”

Enzo sighed and didn’t look at me. “Fine. But you have to promise not to tell anyone.”

“Why?” I asked, confused.

 

28-8-16_13-16-10.png

He hesitated for a split second, then blurted out: “It’s Michelle. My boss. I’m seeing my boss.”

I was so shocked, I didn’t know what to say for a while. Enzo was still avoiding my gaze. “Wait, what? Your boss? Enzo, are you crazy? You can’t date your boss!”

“Sssh! Don’t wake the entire house up.” He frowned. “It’s not illegal. It’s just frowned upon.” “And you’d both get fired if anyone found out. And she’s like, what, forty?” “Thirty-seven,” he reluctantly admitted. I shuddered. “So, what, you’re in a relationship with her?”

“Well… Kind of. We get breakfast or lunch every once in a while but it’s mainly just…” “Oh, God, I don’t want to know!” I interrupted him.

 

28-8-16_13-15-16.png

“Sorry, sorry,” he said quickly. “Look, I didn’t plan this. It just sort of happened. And we have a lot of fun together…” Enzo shrugged. “I’m just enjoying my time with her. It’s not like I’m getting married.”

I sighed. “I still think it’s crazy.”

“I know you do. But… If she makes me happy, and I make her happy, what’s the problem?”

“Just realize what you’re getting into, Enz. Work relationships are tricky no matter what, even more so when it’s your boss.”

“I get it. It’s just… She’s so awesome.” He smiled, and I could see in his face that he honestly liked her a lot.

 

28-8-16_13-17-12.png

“Don’t get yourself in trouble, okay?” I urged him. “I won’t,” he promised. “And I’m not really encouraging this,” I added. Enzo smiled. “That’s okay. As long as you don’t tell anyone.”

“What, you don’t want mom and dad to know you’re somebody’s boy toy?” Enzo scoffed and I giggled despite myself. “Enzo Fiore, cougar prey.”

“Stop it, Allie!” Enzo tried to look angry, but couldn’t hold back a grin. “You just go back to eating your hotdog.” He patted my stomach. “And you, little kiddo, better make your mom’s life hell when you come out. That’ll teach her.”

8 gedachtes over “2.31 Prey

  1. “Puke bush.” hahaha 😀 I laughed out loud at that. On another note, Enzo’s secrets bring him from one problem to another. It could get very awkward if he and his boss break up and then he still has to see her everyday. He doesn’t really seem to be thinking ahead. I hope he doesn’t get hurt. On yet another note, I’m really glad Allie’s pregnancy is going well. 😀

    Liked by 1 persoon

    1. Hahaha it’s super weird, even if there was a toilet close by, she kept running to that bush! Yeah, Enzo definitely isn’t thinking with his brain right now 😉 he doesn’t realize the consequences at all. We’ll see more of their relationship soon! Thanks for the long comment, loved it ❤

      Liked by 1 persoon

  2. SpurklyNinja

    Lol! The puke bush! 😀 Super cute to see Allie so blissfully happy with her pregnancy.

    Hmm.. Enzo, be careful with this relationship. (Legit snorted at “Enzo Fiore, cougar prey”)

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

