2.29 All Is Forgiven

Enzo

28-8-16_12-39-24.png

The sun shone through the big windows. I woke up, somewhat disoriented at first. When I saw the red, silky sheets and lace underwear on the floor, I remembered. Michelle. God, what a night. I’d been with girls before, fooled around a bit in high school, but that couldn’t even come close to this. Every second of it was amazing. We hadn’t even gone to bed until around six in the morning.

 

28-8-16_12-39-50.png

I sat on the edge of the bed for a while, not able to hold back a grin on my face. It was probably so wrong – having sex with your much older boss must be the most cliché thing in the book. And if anyone found out about this, we’d both be in huge trouble. But I couldn’t shake the idea that I wanted to spend more nights like this.

 

28-8-16_12-41-18.png

Finally, I decided to walk into the living room. I found Michelle in the living room, dressed in nothing but a towel and making eggs.

“Hey, you,” she smiled. “Did you sleep okay?”

“Great,” I said, taking a seat on a barstool. “When we finally got to sleep.”

Michelle chuckled and I was amazed at how easy it was to joke with her, even the morning after.

 

28-8-16_12-42-01.png

“I hope you like scrambled eggs,” she continued. “It’s about the only thing I know how to cook, so it’s not like you have a choice.” “Scrambled eggs are great.”

I watched her for a while as she prepared breakfast. Her smooth arms, her full curves under the towel. She was only a few years younger than mom, but probably one of the most attractive women I’d ever encountered.

 

28-8-16_12-43-07.png

We kept chatting while Michelle was preparing breakfast. The radio was turned on, playing a soft indie-rock song and her laugh was loud and hearty. It felt comfortable and exciting.

 

28-8-16_12-44-13.png

It was only when Michelle sat down next to me that she started getting serious.

“Look, Enzo. I enjoyed last night. A lot. I mean, a lot.” She sighed slightly. “But we shouldn’t have done this. I’m your boss, I’m nearly twice your age, it’s not appropriate.”

“I thought you’d say that,” I said calmly. “But I don’t agree.”

Michelle looked slightly surprised but didn’t say anything.

“We like each other. We have fun together. We’re obviously attracted to each other. Who needs to know? Why is it anyone’s business if we want to spend time together?”

 

28-8-16_12-46-13.png

“We can’t be in a relationship, Enzo,” Michelle started sternly. “You know that.”

“So don’t think of it as a relationship. Think of it as… As friends. Friends who work together, but like to see each other outside of work, and who enjoy doing… physical activities together.” I grinned at Michelle’s reluctant smile. “I promise I won’t tell anyone. We can keep it a secret, and if you get fed up with me, you can just tell me. I’m of age, it’s not like I can sue you.”

Michelle looked hesitant. “Oh, Enzo, I don’t know…”

 

28-8-16_12-47-11.png

“Come on, Michelle.”

I pulled her up from the stool and placed my hands firmly around her hips. “I thought you never cared about what other people thought of you. I thought you did what made you happy. If you enjoy spending time with me, why would you give that up? Unless you don’t want to see me outside of work, of course… In that case, you can just tell me.”

For a second, I was scared that she would actually say that she didn’t want to see me anymore. But luckily, she shook her head. “You know that’s not it.”

 

28-8-16_12-48-06.png

“So what’s the harm then? We’ve already done it once, that line has been crossed, why not cross it again?”

“Because…” Michelle started protesting, but I firmly pressed her against me and kissed her. Even though I’d felt exhausted from the night before when I got up, my energy suddenly came rushing back to me.

 

28-8-16_12-48-21.png

“Oh, all right then,” Michelle breathed heavily when I finally pulled my lips away from her. “I guess crossing it one more time won’t do that much harm…”

 

28-8-16_12-53-09.png

It was already late in the afternoon when I came home, with a happy jump in my step. I’d spent a pretty amazing morning with Michelle and nothing could bring my good mood down.

“Enzo? Is that you? Come in here for a second, we want to talk to you.”

Except maybe that.

 

28-8-16_12-53-35.png

Reluctantly, I went into the living room. Mom and dad were waiting for me on the couch. There was no doubt in my mind that I was getting scolded for being out all night without letting them know where I was.

I sat down in the chair furthest away from them, careful that they wouldn’t notice the scent of vanilla and sex on me. “Look,” I said quickly. “I know you guys are probably upset that I didn’t let you know where I was…”

“It’s okay,” dad interrupted, “Allie told us that you went out early this morning to play videogames at Martin’s.”

“Uh… Yep. That’s right.” Thanks for covering for me, sis.

 

28-8-16_12-54-33.png

“Honey, we just wanted to tell you that we aren’t upset that you’re not going to college,” mom said. “You’re not?” I asked, genuinely surprised. “Of course not,” dad chimed in. “We are upset that you lied to us about it for months. But if you feel like this is the right path for you, then we’ll support you no matter what. And we’re sorry that we made you feel like you had to hide something like that from us.”

 

28-8-16_12-54-43.png

“We never want to give you the idea that we’re not proud of you or the way you’re doing things, Enz,” mom added. “We just want you to be happy.”

I was moved at their sincerity and smiled. “Thanks, guys. I’m sorry that I lied to you. I was just… scared, I guess.”

 

28-8-16_12-55-45.png

“It’s all forgiven,” mom smiled. “As long as you tell us a little more about that job of yours. Oh, and of course you are grounded for a month for lying to us.” So close. But mom was smiling, and dad seemed happy as well. It felt great to finally have the weight of this secret lifted off my shoulders. Unfortunately, it had been immediately replaced with a new secret…

4 gedachtes over “2.29 All Is Forgiven

Geef een reactie

