2.10 Not Sure

Allie

6-8-16_19-55-01.png

“Sorry! Sorry! I yield!”

Phil was wiping tears from his eyes, but I tickled him for a few seconds longer before finally giving him a break. I grinned. “That’ll teach you for making fun of me.”

He shrugged, rubbing his belly in the place where my fingers had dug through his shirt. “I wasn’t making fun of you. I just said you have a funny crying face.” He got a mischievous twinkle in his eyes. “I do not.”

“Your nose turns tomato-red and you pout like a three-year-old. It’s kind of funny.”

 

6-8-16_19-55-24.png

I put my hands up threateningly. “Don’t make me angry, Philip Horton, I will attack…”

“I’m sorry, I’m sorry. You look beautiful when you cry.”

He grinned, and hearing him call me beautiful – even as a joke – made my heart flutter in my chest. I cleared my throat and looked at my feet.

“So… How’s Angela?”

 

6-8-16_19-57-58.png

Phil shifted on the bench. It always got a little awkward when we talked about his girlfriend.

“Oh, she’s fine. I mean, I think she’s fine.”

“You think she’s fine?”

“Well… We don’t really talk all that much. You know, not like this.” He gestured at me and himself. “So what do you do then?” I asked, confused. “Watch movies?”

“No… She doesn’t really like movies.” Phil, how can you date this girl?

“So what, then?”

He hesitated for a second. “I mean… Mostly… Physical stuff.”

 

6-8-16_19-58-17.png

“Oh.” My stomach turned at the thought, but my curiosity got the better of me. I wanted to know all about this girl and at the same time I wanted to pretend like she didn’t exist, as strange as that was.

“So uh… What’s it like?”

“What?”

“You know…” He’s your best friend, you’re supposed to talk to him about this stuff. “Sex.”

Phil turned bright red and avoided my gaze. “Uh… We… We haven’t done that yet.”

“You haven’t?” I had a hard time hiding my surprise, but a wave of relief washed over me. Phil wasn’t exactly a ladies’ man, but after dating Angela for two months, I’d expected it to have happened already.

 

6-8-16_19-58-52.png

“No. I mean, we’ve made out. And you know… I’ve uh… felt some stuff.”

I made a grossed out face, and Phil hurriedly continued. “Angela really wants to. You know, she’s done it before and I think she’s kind of annoyed that we haven’t yet, but… I just think I want to wait a little while.”

He looked embarrassed, so I put my hand on his leg, trying to hide how overjoyed I was. “That’s good, Phil, why should you rush?”

 

6-8-16_19-54-04.png

“Yeah, I guess. I just thought about what you said a while ago – waiting for the right person and stuff. I think I’d like that.”

“And you don’t think Angela is the right person?” Damn it, Allie, don’t smile.

Phil shrugged. “I don’t know… I mean, she’s nice and I like her and we have fun. But it’s not…” He shook his head, as if trying to get a thought out of it. “I’m just not sure yet.”

“I understand,” I said, softly squeezing his hand. He smiled at me. “Actually, you know what would make me feel a little better?”

“What’s that?”

“If you met her. Just, casual, getting some breakfast. I know you two got off on the wrong foot, but that was my fault. It’d mean a lot to me to hear what you think of her.”

 

6-8-16_19-57-06.png

I took a deep breath. The last thing I wanted was to see Angela drooling all over Phil. But it meant so much to him… How could I say no? “Sure. That sounds nice.”

“Great!” He smiled. “I’m sure you’ll like her.”

“Yeah.” I tried hard not to sound too sarcastic. “Me too.”

2 gedachtes over “2.10 Not Sure

Geef een reactie

