2.5 Angela

Philip

10-7-16_22-07-35.png

I stood in front of the familiar shelves, searching through them to find something I hadn’t read yet. I loved reading, but we didn’t have enough money to buy a ton of books, so the library was my savior. I loved going late at night, when I was usually the only one there, and could stay and read in one of the comfortable chairs before closing time.

 

10-7-16_22-07-48.png

Finally I found something that seemed interesting, so I grabbed the book off the shelf and found my usual spot in the corner, near the windows. I was only a few pages in, when I heard a friendly voice.

“Interesting book?”

 

10-7-16_22-08-50.png

I looked up and saw a young, dark-haired girl sitting at the chess tables, giving me a smile. “Oh,” I said, surprised that she was talking to me. “Uh, I’m not sure yet, I’ve only just started.”

“I’m sorry for interrupting you.”

“No problem. Are you new in town? I don’t recognize you.”

“Yeah, my parents just moved here. We haven’t unpacked my own chess table yet, so I decided to come here.” She studied my face, which made me shy. “I’m Angela, by the way. What’s your name?”

“I’m Philip. Philip Horton.”

“Do you want to join me?”

 

10-7-16_22-09-38.png

I hesitated for a moment, but then got up and sat down across from her. We didn’t really get around to playing chess, but we chatted for a while. Angela told me that she was originally from Oasis Springs, but her parents moved here because her dad got a new job as the manager for some band. She was going to start going to our school on Monday. “I guess it’s good to know at least one friendly face there,” she laughed.

 

10-7-16_22-10-07.png

“Well, I’m not exactly the most popular guy in school,” I said. “Otherwise I wouldn’t be at a library on a Saturday night…”

“At least you’re not the only one here,” Angela smiled. “I like your company.”

I looked at her, somewhat confused at the compliment, then shyly looked away. Was this girl flirting with me? I wasn’t really the type to get a lot of attention from girls, but I guess she didn’t know that.

She must’ve seen my confusion because she quickly started talking about something else. I was glad to join in her conversation.

 

10-7-16_22-10-45.png

We stayed until the library was about to close and the grumpy librarian had shot us a few dark looks, hoping we’d get the hint and leave.

“So, Philip…” Angela started, giving me a flirty look from under her eyelashes that made me blush. “Do you think we could maybe get a cup of coffee sometime? You know, get to know each other a little better?”

A date. She is asking you out on a date. Allie’s face flashed in my mind. I liked Allie. I loved Allie. Why would I want to go on a date with this random girl? On the other hand… Allie didn’t exactly seem to share my feelings. And if Allie was getting asked out by the hottest guys in school, it was only a matter of time before she would start dating one of them, too. What did I have to lose?

 

10-7-16_22-11-14.png

“Yeah,” I finally smiled. “I’d like that.”

I watched as Angela saved my number in her phone. I wasn’t quite sure whether to be glad or upset about this date. I mean, I was seventeen and I was finally dating. That was awesome, right?

I just couldn’t stop wishing this date had been with Allie instead of Angela…

2 gedachtes over “2.5 Angela

Geef een reactie

