1.20 Reunited

Evelynne

29-6-16_22-06-28.png

“Vanessa! It’s so good to see you again!”

“Evie! Oh my gosh, I can’t believe you had two kids! Look at you, you must not be eating anything!”

I laughed, reddening a bit. “Oh, please. I’m ready for a nice chocolate croissant, how about you?” “Always,” Vanessa grinned as we walked toward the door of the coffeeshop. “I’m so glad you called, I haven’t seen you since the baby shower. How is your little boy?” “Oh, he’s fine. Teething, so a he’s a little fussy.”

 

29-6-16_22-06-52.png

“I remember that stage,” nodded Vanessa. “It can drive you crazy, can’t it?” “Definitely,” I sighed. “I’m really happy to be getting out of the house for a while.”

 

29-6-16_22-08-46.png

A while later, we sat down with some coffee and a pastry. After the usual chit-chat, I decided to get down to business.

“Vanessa, there’s another reason why I wanted to meet up with you…” I began, slightly hesitantly. Vanessa smiled. “I had a feeling there would be. What is it?”

“I’ve told you about my boss before, haven’t I?”

“What, the arrogant jerk? Yeah, you’ve mentioned him. And I believe I’ve offered you several time to introduce you to the owner of the gallery where I work, to see if he might be interested in some of your work, but you didn’t want to step on anyone’s toes…”

 

29-6-16_22-09-58.png

“Well, that’s exactly why I invited you here. I’d like to take you up on that offer.”

I explained my recent struggles to her, and luckily, Vanessa was very understanding. “Honestly, Evie, I can’t even believe you survived at that job for this long.” “Well, barely,” I confessed. “But what do you say? Do you think your boss might want to take a look at some of my work?”

 

29-6-16_22-11-01.png

“I know for sure he would,” Vanessa winked at me. “And I’ve become quite good friends with him, he really trusts my opinion, so there’s a good chance he’ll be willing to hang some of your work in the gallery. And then, once the first few pieces sell for a good price… Well, let’s just say, things will only get better from there.”

Relief washed over me. I was so afraid she’d turn me down, but the conversation was actually going really well. “But I do have one condition,” Vanessa added.

 

29-6-16_22-11-17.png

“What’s that?”

“You have to quit your job,” she grinned, “right now.”

I laughed and grabbed my phone, looking for my boss’s number. “Gladly.”

 

29-6-16_22-12-35.png

I walked out of the coffee shop feeling like a completely different person. I had energy, I felt happy, I was excited about the future for the first time in a while. Vanessa had texted her boss some pictures of my paintings, and he was immediately enthusiastic. I might actually be a real artist, something I’d only dreamed of my entire life…

 

29-6-16_22-16-35.png

I rushed home and found Matt in Enzo’s room, playing with the little baby. “Hey, sweetheart. How was coffee?”

I looked at him, unable to hide the huge smile on my face. “Guess who just quit their job?”

 

29-6-16_22-15-43.png

“You did? Oh, Evie, that’s great!” He pulled me into his arms and hugged me tight, his warm breath tickling my neck. “I’m so proud of you. My wife, a true artist…”

“Well, nothing’s hanging in a gallery yet,” I laughed.

“Just wait and see,” he said confidently, kissing me on my forehead. “You’re gonna be huge.”

Geef een reactie

