1.19 Decisions

Evelynne

29-6-16_21-46-10.png

That night, I decided to stay up and wait for Matt. I just couldn’t bear this any longer, I had to talk to him.

“Evie,” he said, surprised at seeing me. “What are you still doing up?”

“I wanted to talk to you,” I said, and to my surprise, I heard a crack in my voice, like I was about to burst into tears. “I’ve barely seen you all week.”

 

29-6-16_21-47-29.png

Worried, he immediately sat down next to me. “What’s wrong? Did something happen? Are the kids okay?”

“The kids are fine, it’s… It’s me.” I sniffed. “Why? Baby, what’s the matter?”

“I’m just so tired, Matt. With the kids, and the house, and my job… I barely have time to shower. You get to do all the fun stuff, play with them all day, write songs while Allie’s at school, but I have to do all the boring parent stuff and I hate it! And when I do go to work, all I get is my boss yelling at me, telling me he won’t ever help me get my artwork noticed with his connections, I haven’t gotten a promotion in years… I’m stuck. And I miss you.”

 

29-6-16_21-48-19.png

Matt sighed. “I miss you, too. But Evie, you know my working hours are crazy, and…” “It’s not that,” I interrupted him, “honestly, I’m so happy that you get to play so many shows. But I’m just overwhelmed with everything. I don’t know what to do anymore.”

“I know what you’re going to do,” Matt said, “you’re going to quit your job.”

I looked at him, in shock. “What? What are you talking about?”

 

29-6-16_21-49-17

“You hate that job, Evie. You want to be a painter, don’t you? Not some pretentious artist’s personal assistant! You went to an art college; call some old friends and connections, see who can help you out. It’s time that you do something for you, sweetie. You do so much for me and the kids, do something that makes you happy. You get to stay home all day, spend the mornings with me, work on your art, and still have enough energy to play with Allie when she gets home.”

 

29-6-16_21-49-37.png

I sat there, pondering his words. It did make sense. My job really wasn’t making my happy. But could I just give it up? Could I give up the security of a pay check every month?

Matt could see the doubt on my face and wiped some tears away from my cheeks. “Just think about it,” he said softly, “you don’t have to decide anything right now. In the meantime, I’ll help out in the mornings. Deal?”

“Deal,” I sniffed, with a weak smile.

 

29-6-16_21-49-58.png

Matt grinned and put his arm around my waist.

“And now that we’re both awake, anyway…”

Geef een reactie

