1.18 Keep Going

Evelynne

29-6-16_21-17-53.png

“No, no, no… Are you kidding me? This is not the time to break!”

I rubbed my temples in agony. The shower was broken, the sink was clogged, I was already running late for work, Matt was still asleep because he got in after 3 AM, and I could hear Enzo crying for a bottle upstairs. Desperately, I texted my boss saying I’d be an hour late today since I was ‘stuck in traffic’. I’d deal with him yelling at me later.

 

29-6-16_21-42-44.png

After feeding Enzo, I grabbed some tools and got to working on the sink. I’d leave the shower for Matt to fix. Everything had been in complete chaos lately. Every morning was a battle against the clock, with getting both the kids ready, then getting myself to work on time. Usually I came in late, which meant that my boss had another reason to yell at me and tell me that I would never be a ‘true artist’.

 

29-6-16_21-43-59.png

Sighing, I grabbed a mop and started cleaning up the bathroom floor which had started looking like a river. Matt got home late most evenings, so we barely had time to talk – let alone do anything else, if you know what I mean. Most of the time I was exhausted and sound asleep when he got in, and Enzo woke me up while he was still catching up on sleep from the show that night.

 

29-6-16_21-30-50.png

He was home all day with Enzo and he was there to help Allie with her homework when she got home from school. But when I came home from work, he usually had to leave right away, which left us with nothing but a quick peck on the cheek. And of course, then I had to get into the boring mom role of making dinner, dealing with a fussy baby who was tired but didn’t want to sleep anywhere but in my arms, and getting a defiant six-year-old ready to sleep in a bed that she was convinced was full of monsters.

 

29-6-16_21-35-42.png

And once I finally got everyone in their beds and asleep, there was the entire house to clean up. I loved my kids, I loved my family, and I’d do anything for them, but I wasn’t sure how long I’d be able to keep going like this…

Geef een reactie

