1.17 Goodbye

Matt

26-6-16_18-43-33.png

Dad decided to stay with us for a few months. We had a little guest room where he could stay, and it was wonderful for the entire family to have him around. Evelynne could finally catch a break with taking care of Allie and focus on work a bit more, while still having time to have a proper breakfast in the morning. And Evie and my dad actually got along very well.

 

26-6-16_18-44-34.png

Dad stayed home all day, cleaning up around the house (which you really don’t have time for with an infant), and fixing some leaking sinks or clogged toilets.

 

26-6-16_18-12-53.png

Of course, he also loved that he had lots of unlimited cuddle-time with Allie. She also seemed to really like her grandfather, although she had a hard time figuring out what she should pay more attention to: his glasses or his beard.

 

26-6-16_18-48-13.png

But after spending about six months with us, dad eventually decided it was time for him to go back to his home in Oasis Springs. And so, it was time for our goodbyes.

“Thanks a lot for helping us out, dad,” I said. “I don’t know where we’d be without you.”

“You would’ve managed,” he smiled, “I’m sure of that.”

 

26-6-16_18-47-38.png

“Well,” I said, “I guess this is it.” I was taken aback by how sad I was to see him go. Over the past six months, we’d become closer than we’d ever been before.

“Don’t be silly,” Dad said, “I’ll come over all the time. You know, I’ve been thinking… There’s some great places to rent in Newcrest. I might move over here and be a little closer to you guys and Allie.” He looked at me shyly. “If you two wouldn’t mind, of course.”

 

26-6-16_18-48-47.png

“Of course we wouldn’t mind, dad. We’d love that.”

I stepped forward and pulled him into a hug. “Let us know if you need any help moving your stuff out.”

He chuckled. “I’ll definitely take you up on that.”

 

26-6-16_18-49-16.png

And then, with one final wave, he walked down the steps and back to his own life. But I knew it wouldn’t be long before we saw each other again.

Geef een reactie

