1.12 Now or Never

Matt

24-6-16_21-09-17.png

It took me a while to recover from the conversation with my dad. I was pretty bummed about it for a few weeks, but I was too stubborn to call him again. Evelynne noticed I was feeling down, so she suggested we go over to the park to get some fresh air. Which was the perfect occasion for something very special I’d been planning.

 

24-6-16_21-09-32.png

“So, how’s little baby girl doing?”

“She’s fine,” Evie smiled, “still kicking away, as she should be.” “Good. She’ll have to stay in there a little while longer, though. The house is nowhere near ready.”

We’d gotten a few people to work on building our new home, but it was taking a bit longer than expected. Not that that was a problem. As long as the nursery was ready before Evie’s due date, we would be fine.

 

24-6-16_21-11-04.png

“It really is beautiful here,” Evie said, looking around at the lush, green trees and the lake shimmering in the afternoon sun. She got up from the bench, walking closer to the side of the lake, looking out over the water and letting out a sigh. This is it, I thought, it’s now or never. Come on, Matt.

Nervously, I clenched my sweaty hands, then walked over to her.

“Evie… I’ve been thinking.” She grinned at me. “Well, that’s new,” she teased. “What about?” “About what my father said. About us not being married…”

“Oh, sweetheart, you know I told you not to pay attention to him. He doesn’t know what he’s talking about, what does it matter to our baby if we’re married or not?”

 

24-6-16_21-10-28.png

“I know it doesn’t matter anything to her,” I said soothingly, rubbing her belly. “We’ll love her to death, anyway. But living with you, having a child with you, it’s made me fall in love with you more and more every day. And I realized… I want to marry you. I want you to be my wife. I want to promise to you and to the entire world that we’ll spend every day together for the rest of our lives.”

 

24-6-16_21-11-26.png

“So, Evie…” I took a deep breath, reached my trembling hands inside my pocket and got down on one knee.

“Will you marry me?”

 

24-6-16_21-11-41.png

“Oh, Matt… Of course I will!”

24-6-16_21-11-4924-6-16_21-12-0224-6-16_21-12-1424-6-16_21-12-24

Geef een reactie

