1.11 Daddy Dearest

Matt

24-6-16_20-39-59.png

The months flew by. Evie was growing bigger and bigger and we were both working our asses off at work to save as much money as we could. We’d made some plans for expanding the house, but it was not gonna be a cheap job, even if we did most of it ourselves.

 

24-6-16_20-42-14.png

A few months in, Evelynne made a pretty good point about something I definitely did not want to do. Call my dad and tell him about his first grandchild. I hadn’t spoken to him since Christmas, when we’d briefly called to wish each other happy holidays. But I knew she was right. I couldn’t keep this from him. The baby had a right to know its only living grandparent.

“Dad? It’s… It’s me.”

 

24-6-16_20-41-30.png

“How are you?”

“Good. Uhm… I’ve got something to tell you.”

“Well, remember how I told you about my girlfriend, Evelynne? She’s pregnant. You’re going to be a grandfather.”

 

24-6-16_20-42-33.png

“Uh, no. We didn’t get married. It was not exactly planned, but we’re very happy.”

“Who cares if we’re married or not? I love her!”

“God, dad, I can’t believe this. I’m telling you about your first grandchild and all you care about is the fact that I’m not married yet?”

 

24-6-16_20-41-41.png

“I do make money dad! I’m opening for the band three nights a week. I’m doing well, I’m writing my own music, I’m writing jingles… I’m not a starving musician, I can take care of a child!”

“I’m not a child anymore. You cannot stop me from making my own decisions. It’s my life, my girlfriend, my kid. And don’t you dare make me feel guilty about this. You’ve always done that, making me feel guilty for going with my gut, and I’m sick of it.”

“Just because you’ve always lived your life in this perfect cookie cutter-way, doesn’t mean I have to as well. I wish you could just respect that, Dad. I really do. But obviously you don’t, so forget it. Forget I called.”

I hung up. He did not call back.

 

24-6-16_20-43-21.png

Evelynne sat down next to me. “I’m sorry,” she said softly. “That sounded horrible.”

I shrugged. “I’m used to it. I just thought… Maybe he’d make an exception for his first grandchild. Actually be happy for me for once.”

I had to blink back tears. Evie probably saw them, but she pretended not to. “He’ll come around.” I grimaced. “Yeah. Maybe.”

Geef een reactie

