1.6 The Morning After

Matt

 

19-6-16_20-32-52.png

I woke up, my head feeling like somebody had pounded it with a hammer. I felt something next to me, something warm and soft… I looked over and there was Evie. Suddenly I remembered everything from last night. Well, not everything, but definitely the highlights. And boy, were those highlights amazing.

 

19-6-16_20-33-04.png

I quietly got out of bed, trying not to wake her. I looked at her for a while. It was strange how normal this felt. This was Evie, my purely platonic friend, who was incredibly attractive, but we’d never even kissed before. And yet, it seemed so natural to wake up next to her, with her peacefully sleeping and her hair loosely cascading over the pillow. My pillow.

Shaking my head, I started heading toward the shower. We’d talk about it when she woke up.

 

19-6-16_20-34-55.png

I got out of the shower once I heard somebody stirring in the main room. After quickly putting on my clothes, I went into the main room. Just in time to catch Evie frantically jumping out of bed.

 

19-6-16_20-35-35.png

“Matt! What… what happened last night?”

“Isn’t it obvious?” I said, trying to ignore her smooth body in lingerie. “Matt, this is not a joke! This was a big mistake… Oh my god, I can’t believe I did this.”

I felt my heart sink as she started crying. “Evie, calm down, what’s the matter? Here, sit down… I thought you wanted this, too.”

 

19-6-16_20-36-40.png

“I did,” she sniffed, “I really did, but… Not like this.”

“What do you mean, not like this?”

“Now I’m… I’m just… A number on your list. One of your groupies. That’s all. I’ll never be more than that, not after last night.”

 

19-6-16_20-36-53

“What? Evie, that’s crazy, I mean…” I hesitated. “Did you want to be more than that?”

She looked at me, tears streaming over her face. “It doesn’t matter now. What’s done is done. I’m just one of your groupies.”

She got up, grabbed her clothes and got dressed so quickly I didn’t know what to say.

 

19-6-16_20-38-34.png

As she stormed out the door, I tried calling her name, but she just kept on walking. This was the worst morning after I’d ever had.

 

Geef een reactie

