1.4 No Excuses

19-6-16_19-57-07.png

Evelynne

I stared into the bubbling mixture of mac and cheese. I didn’t have much of an appetite. I hated that Matt and I had had an argument. And it was my fault, too. I had no right to nag him so much about all the girls he was seeing. I knew that. But why did it bother me so much?

 

19-6-16_19-57-44.png

Of course, deep down I knew exactly why it bothered me. I hated hearing about those anonymous girls in his bed because I liked him. I’d liked Matt from the moment I first looked at him. And being friends with him, getting to know him, creating our own private jokes, made my crush grow bigger and bigger. I wasn’t even sure if you could call it a crush anymore…

 

19-6-16_19-58-09.png

But I’d learned my lesson the hard way. No falling in love with guys who were too attractive for their own good. I’d had my heart broken once before, and thought I’d never recover from it. I was not about to go through that hell again.

Still, I felt bad about our fight. So I decided to push my pride aside and call him. Maybe we could make up.

 

19-6-16_19-56-23.png

“Matt? Hi. Listen… I’m sorry about what happened yesterday. Is it okay if I come over?”

 

19-6-16_20-04-15.png

I sat down on the bed next to him, not long after our phone call.

“I’m sorry, Matt. I totally overreacted, I… I don’t know what I was thinking. I had no right…”

“Evie, it’s okay,” he said, with a smile that made my heart melt, “I shouldn’t have been such a jerk to you. It’s fine. We’re good.”

I let out a sigh of relief.

 

19-6-16_20-08-02.png

Matt laughed and grabbed my hand. “Evie, you’ve been working way too hard lately. What’s the last time you went on a night out?”

“I don’t know… My birthday?”

“Exactly. You need a fun night with your best friend.” “Really, Matt, I have to work tomorrow and…”

 

19-6-16_20-06-52.png

“No! No excuses!”

He pulled me closer to him. “You’re not getting out of this. The band is playing a show tonight, but after they’re done and I’ve collected all the bras off the stage, I’m free to hang out. You, me, the Blue Velvet. Tonight.”

I looked at him, his sparkling eyes and larger-than-life smile. “Alright. Tonight.”

 

Geef een reactie

