1.3 Seeing Sienna

19-6-16_18-43-39.png

 

“Oh, I love hearing you play the guitar,” Sienna purred. “You are so talented, Matt!”

I grinned. “Oh well, I try. Thanks for stopping by. So, I’ll see you tonight?”

“You sure will!” She winked at me. “Can’t wait.”

With a little smile, she turned around and walked away, swinging her hips seductively as she did so. She could be terribly annoying, but her butt made up for it.

 

19-6-16_19-28-26.png

I walked up the small steps to Evie’s house, which had become so familiar to me over the past six months of living in Newcrest. Ever since our first meeting at the Blue Velvet, we’d been hanging out almost every single day. I was still madly attracted to her, but she’d made it clear that she wanted to be just friends. And she was such an awesome one, I didn’t feel like risking our friendship by hooking up with her once and then living in eternal awkwardness. Still, though, sometimes I wished she’d be open to something more than just friendship…

 

19-6-16_19-37-46.png

I knocked on the door. “Come in!” she yelled from inside. I opened the door and saw her standing in the kitchen. Her apartment looked a lot nicer than mine and had a separate bedroom. Then again, she paid a lot more for it.

“Hey you.” Evelynne came up to me and gave me a hug. Her hair smelled like flowers as she wrapped her arms around me. “Take a seat, I’m just getting some dishes together.”

 

19-6-16_19-29-36.png

“So, how have you been?” I asked her when she sat down. “Same as always. My boss keeps on talking about what an amazing artist he is and won’t even look at my paintings.” She rolled her eyes. “I don’t know who I’m kidding, I’ll never make a name for myself in the art world.”

“Don’t be so negative, Evie. Just give it time, your paintings are amazing. It won’t be long until somebody recognizes how amazing you are.” I saw her cheeks flush a bit. “And of course, if you end up flopping as a painter, you can always come and be my groupie and throw your bras at me.”

 

19-6-16_19-29-22.png

She hit me in the face with a pillow. “Please, like I’d ever throw my bra at you.”

“Never say never,” I grinned, before tickling her until tears of laughter streamed down her face.

 

19-6-16_19-30-34.png

After a while, we finally calmed down. “I do have an actual groupie, though,” I joked, “Sienna’s still pretty in to me.”

“Oh.” Evelynne frowned. “Sienna… Is that the annoying one? With the voice like a mouse?” “Yeah, she is pretty annoying when she talks. But I have ways of shutting her up.”

I looked over at Evelynne, expecting her to laugh, but she didn’t.

“Why are you hanging out with her if she’s so annoying to you?” “I’m just a guy, Evie. I have needs.”

 

19-6-16_19-31-29.png

“I get that, but… Doesn’t it get old after a while? Jumping from girl to girl, never anything meaningful… Most of them aren’t even nice.”

“I’m not looking for a nice girl, Evie,” I said, getting annoyed. “I’m a musician. I want to go on tour, travel the world… Don’t you see? Nice girls just don’t want that kind of life style. You’re a nice girl, would you want to date me?”

 

19-6-16_19-34-18.png

“That’s beside the point,” she snapped. “I just hate seeing you waste your time with those annoying, gold digging chicks.”

“It’s not up to you who I date or spend time with, Evie! We’re friends, and I love hanging out with you, but stop judging me!”

“I’m not judging you! I just don’t think those girls deserve your time or attention or…”

 

19-6-16_19-30-14.png

“Well guess what, Evie. You didn’t want my time or attention. You wanted to just be friends. So don’t get upset with me when I find other girls who do want what you rejected.”

A heavy, awkward silence fell over the room. I regretted my harsh tone immediately, but I didn’t like being judged for my choices. Evelynne didn’t even look me in the eye, but stared at her knees. I could see tears in her eyes. I stood up, not wanting to see her cry.

“I should go. I have a date tonight.”

 

19-6-16_19-45-06.png

That night, I invited Sienna back to my place. But I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I thought I would.

Geef een reactie

